Since its foundation, the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary has been involved in education. In Ireland, there are over 20 schools under the trusteeship of the Loreto Education Trust. Of these, 16 are voluntary Secondary Schools, 5 are Primary/Junior schools and 2 in Northern Ireland are Voluntary Grammar Schools. The Education Trust appoints the Board of Management to manage the school on its behalf.

The members come from the following constituencies:

Loreto Educational Trust: 4 nominees 

Parents: 2 nominees

Teachers: 2 nominees

The Loreto Education Trust appoints the Chairperson of the Board from among the nominees. The Principal acts as Secretary to the Board.


The members of the Board of Management for the period of October 2017- October 2020 are:

Chairperson: Dr. Eilis Humpreys 

Trust Nominees:
Ms. Laura Demery

Mr Colm Moore

Mr Jim Wade 

Parent Nominees:
Ms Sharon Foley

Mr Ben Beach

Teacher Nominees:

Ms Pamela Jordan

Ms Therese Ryan

Mr Robert Dunne is Secretary to the Board.


In-School Management
The in-school management team with responsibility for the day to day running of the school is composed of the following:

Principal: Mr Robert Dunne

Deputy Principal: Ms. Marie Breen

Assistant Principals:

Ms Roisin Conlon

Mr. Will Flanagan

Ms. Aisling Green

Ms Marie Lonergan

Mr. Bernard O'Boyle

Ms. Julie O'Brien