Student Leadership

Student Council
The Student Council is a democratically elected forum which allows the voices of students to be heard. The Council meets on a monthly basis and advises the school management on policy formation and issues of concern to the student.

The Council is organised according to a Constitution.

The members of the Student Council for 2021/22 can be viewed here

Sixth Year Prefects

Sixth Year students are encouraged to apply for particular responsibilities in the school and when appointed are given a job description. The Sixth Year Prefects for 2021/2022 are Catherine Ní Fhearraigh, Jessica Kelly and Kate Byrne.

Justice and Peace/Group

Students from 5th Year are appointed to the Justice and Peace Group and have responsibility for creating an awareness among their peers of Justice and Peace issues.

Social Personal and Health Education Advisory Group

The SPHE advisory group is co-ordinated by a staff teacher - person to be confirmed for 2021/2022. The group is composed of 5th and 6th Years and advises staff on the content of all programmes in the SPHE area. They are involved in peer teaching initiatives from time to time. The members of the SPHE Advisory group for 2021-2022 are Ciara Daly, Aisling Keane, Isabella Kehoe, Ruby Madden, Kaleigh Broderick, Áine Reid.

Anti-Bullying Ambassadors ( AMIGAS)

The role of AMIGAS involves advising staff on ways to promote right relationships, spotting those who might be experiencing bullying behaviour and accompanying them to support staff. The Anti-Bullying Ambassadors for 2021/22 can be found here

Library Representatives

Our new Library Training Programme will teach the Library Representatives from each class the basics of Library Management. They will aid in the everyday life of the library, as well as having an active role in updating our stock to reflect the needs of the greater student body. As part of their role, they will work with the library team to create a vibrant and enticing atmosphere. Their greatest responsibility, however, will be sharing their love of reading with their classmates and promoting the library to the school community. The Library Representatives for 2021/22 are Hazel Gillen, Grace Collins and Gabriela Leon.

Ember Training

The Ember Programme is a faith leadership training programme for students at senior level in secondary schools and is offered by the Dublin Diocese. The students are trained to become faith leaders in their schools and they act as mentors for incoming students at Junior Level.

The Ember Team is inspired by the Christian message of love and service to others, their vision is to create a group of leaders within school who will be an example of faith in action, striving to make a difference in the lives of those around them. The team want to create opportunities for students in the school to deepen their own faith.

Right now it is more important than ever that we need to step up and support each other, “Individually we are but one drop but together we are an Ocean.”

The following girls make up the Ember team; Carla O'Brien, Ailbhe Ryan (Chairpersons), Lily Gowan (Secretary), Eva Murphy, Eva Furlong, Ella Buckley, Emmie Fitzgerald, Kate Claffey, Emily Corbett, Amy Harmon, Sarah Cunningham, Emma Dennehy, Eva Crowley, Emma Whalan (Religion Prefect).

Aug 26
1st Year Orientation
Aug 29
6th Year Orientation
Aug 29
5th Year Orientation
Aug 29
3rd Year Orientation
Loreto Avenue, Off Harbour Road, Dalkey, Co. Dublin, A96 YC81.
01 271 8900
© 2022 Loreto Abbey Dalkey